State Owned Tertiary Institutions In Oyo State to Begin Strike On Monday

The lingering crisis between the Oyo State government and the workers of the state owned institutions is set to take a new turn as the six state owned tertiary institutions in the state has threatened to resume an industrial action on Monday 14th of January 2018 if the state government fail to comply with the agreement it reached with the body recently.

This decision was made and disclosed to newsmen after a Joint Action Committee meeting of the institutions which was held at the Oke Ogun Polytechnic, Saki.

In the communiqué signed by the Joint Action Committee Chairman, Com Afeez Adeniyi, the union resolved to give a seven day ultimatum to the State Government to pay all salary arrears of between three and Eighteen months, at the expiration of which all workers in the state owned institutions will be forced to resume the its industrial action.

This development is the latest installment in the back and forth between the workers of the State owned institutions and the Oyo State government. The workers under the Joint Action Committee (JAC) have over the years continually protested the nonpayment of their workers salary arrears and a reduction in the subventions from the state government to the Institutions.

The State owned institutions are: The Polytechnic Ibadan; Oyo State College of Agriculture and Technology, Igboora; Emmanuel Alayande College of Education Oyo; The Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa; Oke Ogun Polytechnic Saki; and the College of Education in Lanlate. sd

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: