Oyo State: Makinde Swears In Adeosun as SSG

Probe Panels For Local Government Fund,Visitation Panel For Tertiary Institutions

Oyo State Governor, Engineer Seyi Makinde has sworn-in Mrs. Olubamiwo Adeosun as the Secretary to the State Government, the first woman to hold the position in Oyo state.

The governor also set up a 7-man Local Government/Local Council Development Area probe panel to audit their accounts from January, 2018 to May 2019 and a 5-man visitation panel each to look into management crisis rocking the Oke-Ogun and Ibarapa Polytechnics, Saki and Eruwa respectively.

Governor Makinde, while swearing in Mrs. Adeosun, explained that the appointment became necessary to hit the ground running and to justify the trust reposed in him by the good people of Oyo State.

While advising the newly sworn in SSG not to be complacent in performing her duties, Governor Makinde reminded Mrs. Adeosun that the appointment is a call to service and an acknowledgement of her exemplary track records in her various fields of specialization.

Mrs. Adeosun, in her response, praised the governor for the privilege to serve and promised to justify the confidence reposed in her.

In another development, the Governor has set up a 7-man panel to audit the account of Local Government Areas (LGAs) and Local Council Development Area (LCDAs) from January, 2018 to May 2019 and submit its report within 6 weeks.

The governor clarified that the step is not to witch-hunt anybody or past administration, rather it became necessary due to scarcity of funds and to define means of fund activities for government to improve on the standard of living of the people at the grassroots.

In the same vein, the governor also constituted a 5-man visitation panel each to the Oke-Ogun Polytechnic, Saki and Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa To look into the ongoing crisis rocking the institutions with a view of providing implementable solutions and submit their reports within 3 weeks.

Governor Makinde disclosed that the state government in its bid to ensure continuous peace and academic progress in the state’s institutions decided to intervene in the matter which has been long overdue.

The governor, therefore, admonished the panels to carry out the task efficiently and effectively.

Justice Popoola (rtd) is the Chairman of a 7-man Local Government Areas (LGA)/Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) probe panel while Mr. Toyin Akanmu and Mr. Wole Oladokun as Chairmen for Oke-Ogun and Ibarapa Polytechnics Visitation Panels respectively.

Other members of LGA/LCDAs Committee include Dr. Remi Ayodele, Mr Adeniyi Samuel Ayanwale, N.A Abiola (Esq), Mr Adewola Illiasu , ACP Sunday Oke and Mrs. Olubunmi Oni.

Oke-Ogun Polytechnic, Saki Visitation Committee members include Mr. R. O Olawale (Representative of the Head of Service), Mrs. E. E Akintunde (Representative of the ministry of Justice), Mr. I. S Yusuf (Representative of the auditor general) and Mr. A Oyewusi (Representative of the ministry of education).

While Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa Visitation Panel member include Mr. J.T Adelowo (Representative of the head of service), Mrs. N Shittu (Representative of the ministry of Justice), Mr. A . W. Mustapha (Representative of the auditor general) and Mr. A. A. Adewusi (Representative of the ministry of education).

By Adekunle Adegboyega, Photos by DARE ALESHINLOYE

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: