Gov Ajimobi seeks a return to Senate,clinches party Ticket

The Oyo State Governor, Abiola Ajimobi may be making a return back to the senate come 2019 after clinching the Oyo South Senatorial district ticket under the umbrella of the All progressives congress. The Oyo state Governor was a senator representing Oyo south senatorial district between 2003 and 2007, under the umbrella of the Alliance for Democracy (AD)

In the Senatorial primary which was conducted at the Ibadan North Local Government Secretariat, under the watchful eyes of Chief Ademola Seriki led electoral committee, Sen Isiaka Ajimobi polled a total of 2695 votes while his lone contender, Dr Fola Akinosun polled a total of 168 votes.

Governor Ajimobi’s two term in office as the Executive Governor of Oyo State which began in May 29, 2011 will end in May 29, 2019.

Speaking after the primary which was held very late on Tuesday night late due to late arrival of electoral materials from the party secretariat, Abuja, Gov Ajimobi congratulated his contender Dr Fola Akinosun for a brilliant fight even as he expressed happiness that the contender could polled 168 vote. He noted “As you have all witnessed, the election was free, fair and transparent. I was even happy that my younger brother, Dr. Fola Akinosun, could score as high as 168 votes. I think he tried. And you can see that it was transparent and I am happy about it”.

“The process has just started today (yesterday) with my emergence as the candidate of our great party. The people of Oyo South Senatorial district should expect greater performance from me at the Senate, which will even surpass my unprecedented achievements as governor by the grace of God.”

“I look forward to going back to the Red Chamber to contribute my quota to the national debate and the progress of the nation. I wish to bring to fore my parliamentary experience to grow a Nigeria that the next generation will be proud of.”

Also speaking at the end of the exercise the head of the electoral committee Chief Ademola Seriki applauded the contestants and participants for an itch-free conduct of the primary. I salute the calmness and maturity of the aspirants that have so far participated in the primaries, from Sunday’s governorship primary and today’s Senate primary. We look forward to further cooperation among all stakeholders in the remaining primaries”.

The Oyo South Senatorial district is made up of nine local governments which are: Ibadan North, Ibadan North East, Ibadan North West, Ibadan South East, Ibadan South West, Ido, Ibarapa East, Ibarapa North, Ibarapa Central.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: