TSUMANI In APC As National Assembly Members Defect

There was drama at the National Assembly on Tuesday as there was mass defection of APC members to the main opposition party PDP. The defection which was predetermined has made the PDP the main party in the Senate house. The PDP now has 58 members while the APC now has 48 members.
Earlier in the day, security operatives laid siege on the house of the senate president Bukola Saraki as well as the deputy speaker Ike Ekweremadu’s house in an apparent last ditch effort to prevent the imminent defection of member of the National Assembly. Saraki nevertheless made it to the National Assembly Complex just in time to preside over the plenary. The deputy speaker could however not make it to the plenary.

Fifteen members of the senate have now officially defected from the ruling party APC. They all but one moved to the Peoples Democratic Party PDP. Ms Monsurat Sunmonu of Oyo state left the PDP for the African Democratic Congress.
The Defectees are
Dino Melaye, Shaaba Lafiaji, Rabiu Ibrahim, Muhammed Shittu, Barnabas Germade, Ibrahim Danbaba Sulaiman Hunkuyi Isa Miasu, Soji Akanbi, Usman Nafada, Musa Kwankwanso, Lanre Tejuosho, Suleiman Nazif and Monsurat Sunmonu.

In a similar development, At the House of Representatives, thirty seven 37 members of APC have also defected from the ruling party, 32 members joined the Peoples Democratic Party PDP while 4 members joined the African Democratic Congress ADC. One is undecided yet.
Report by Victor Alagogooko for IbadanCIty ANNOUNCER

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: